Microfinance

Microfinance plays a critical role in the financial empowerment of Africa’s citizens. Microfinance services are often tailored to suit the unique socio-economic environment of particular markets and to address the specific requirements of their consumers.

The microfinance industry provides a host of different loan and deposit services to broaden access to financial services for millions of underserved consumers in Africa. Those who do not have history with a financial service provider will struggle to prove creditworthiness and often their incomes are low and irregular, which limits their ability to grow their own businesses or develop financial security.

Innovativeand enterprising microfinance institutions are driving much of the success of addressing these challenges and serving these customers. Ensuring these important services are accessible and affordable, often means that digital or mobile solutions are most effective for reaching the target audience. With limited access to smartphones and reliable data connections, enabling these services over USSD guarantees they are accessible to anyone who owns a mobile device.

Microfinance services over USSD include:

  • Business loans
  • Personal credit services
  • Savings services
  • Insurance

USSD provides a ubiquitous channel to enable a variety of different microfinance services, reaching those who may not have access to a data or internet connection.

The USSD channel will help drive the reach of these crucial services and enable access to financing for individuals and small businesses, that will play a vital role in the transformation of economies across the continent.

Microfinance

La microfinance joue un rôle essentiel dans l’autonomisation financière des africains. Ses services se sont souvent adaptés à l’environnement socioéconomique des marchés ainsi et qu’aux besoins spécifiques de leurs consommateurs.

Ce secteur fournit une multitude de services de prêts et de dépôts différents afin d’élargir l’accès aux services financiers pour des millions de consommateurs mal desservis en Afrique. Ceux qui n’ont pas d’antécédents avec un fournisseur de services financiers auront du mal à prouver leur solvabilité, et souvent, leurs revenus sont faibles et irréguliers, ce qui limite leur capacité à développer leur propre entreprise ou à développer une sécurité financière.

Les institutions de microfinance innovantes et entreprenantes connaissent, quant à elles, un grand succès face à tous les défis précités ainsi que celui du service clients. S’assurer que ces services essentiels sont accessibles et abordables, signifie souvent que les solutions digitales sont plus efficaces dans l’atteinte du public cible. Avec un accès limité aux smartphones et à une connexion internet fiable et de bonne qualité, ces services via USSD garantissent un accès à toute personne possédant un appareil mobile.

Les services de microfinance via USSD comprennent :

  • Les prêts aux entreprises
  • Les services de crédit personnel
  • Les services d’épargne
  • Les assurances

L’USSD fournit un canal universel qui permet l’accès à une panoplie de services de microfinances différents, incluant aussi ceux qui n’ont peut-être pas accès à Internet.

Le canal USSD contribuera à accroître la portée de ces services essentiels et permettra aux particuliers et aux petites entreprises d’accéder au financement, ce qui jouera un rôle essentiel dans la transformation des économies à travers le continent.